Catch can for 5.7 Hemi

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Fergusontd

FTD
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Excuse me for my ignorance but im new to Hemi engines, but what is a catch can and what is its function? Also where is it located? ftd

ExpressRules

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Express Crew Cab & 2019 Big Horn Crew Cab
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Do a search here and you will find lots and lots of threads.

Booms

The OG
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Express
Engine
Whipple 5.7 • SmoothBoost!
:popcorn:

Casper

U.S. Navy (Ret.)
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
About now some Catch Can Denier should be chiming in telling you the Earth is flat.........

No...?

Okay in brief, the Positive Crankcase Ventilation (PCV) valve uses vacuum from your throttle body to remove blow-by gases and combustion by-products, as well as moisture, from your crankcase. The Hemi generates a good amount of these undesirable elements.

The problem is those by-products wind up in your intake manifold and when combined with engine heat they foul your throttle body, your intake manifold and intake valves. Its nasty stuff and a nasty varnish that results. Also, adding this PCV slime (motor oil and other stuff) to your combustion chamber can cause premature detonation. The engine's control module senses knock and pulls (*******) timing which steals power.

A Catch can diverts the stuff from the PCV into a separator/capture can that you can empty instead of it sliming-up your intake.

whetrick1

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
About now some Catch Can Denier should be chiming in telling you the Earth is flat.........

No...?