Hello from Illinois

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Hirsbrunner

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Hi all,

New member here! Please enjoy my long "why I bought a Ram" post!

I just purchased a new to me 2018 Ram 1500 Big Horn w/ the 5.7L from Carmax maybe a month ago. 29K on the odometer. This is my first "nice truck" so to speak, coming from a 2006 Ford F-150 STX with zero options other than 4x4. I'd been looking at Rams for a while and purchased it outright with MaxCare. No monthly payment here. I'm continually impressed with how well-optioned these Big Horns are for the price.

I wasn't particularly brand-loyal, but I had a few wants. First, I wanted no suicide doors. I don't understand why Ford still uses them. I'm a teacher and a musician (tubist) and got sick of the suicide doors in my driveway or in parking lots. I have a lot of stuff that I put in the back seat everyday and a small driveway.

I don't drive people around often, so I went for the Quad Cab and saved a few grand. I had good luck with my Ford, but it was really rusty, and started to be in the shop probably once a month the last 8 months I had it for new things being broken.

Secondly, I still wanted a V8. I chose Ram partly due to the Hemi having been around for quite a while, so going into this I understand the common pitfalls or issues of the engine. I'm a hobbyist; I can't pull apart an engine in my driveway, but I can fix some things by myself. That's why I bought a warranty anyway.

Last, you may laugh, but I wanted power locks, windows, and remote start. Neither of my old trucks had any of that. This one has all of it and then some.