Help with my audio update!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Yooper600

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
So I have a 2015 Big Horn crew cab with the non-Alpine system and the Uconnect 8.4AN. I want to keep the factory touchscreen head unit. I believe there are 6 speakers. One in each door, and then two in the dash (one on each side). The door speakers should be 6x9 with the dash speakers being 3.5". I'm an auto mechanic, but don't know a whole lot of the ins and outs of aftermarket audio equipment. I figure I have about $2000 to spend to step up the system. I'm gonna go with the Kicker Hideaway under the passenger seat as I don't want to lose my storage or the Fold Flat Floor under the rear seat. So what speakers should I install? Stay with 6x9's in the doors or go with 6.5"? I know about the mounting depth problem, but they make kits to fix that if I go with 6x9's. Should I go with coaxial speakers or components? 2 way or 3 way? I have no problem installing tweeters in the sails. Audio Processor? I know nothing about processors, but have read I need one if I am to keep the factory head unit. How many outputs should the processor have? Amp to power everything? I'm guessing I will want a 6 channel amp, (each speaker minus the sub as it's self powered), but I really don't know. Will I need an equalizer? What else am I missing?

Last edited:

TomT

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I’d recommend doing some reading over on the DIYMA website.

Michael

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I replaced my 6 speakers with JBL Club series speakers ad it made a big difference in sound. I used 6x9’s in the doors. I used a spacer to take care of the mounting depth issue.

Ramm5.7

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
2019 Ram 1500 Classic Bighorn
Engine
5.7 Hemi