Lowering/Towing - (Total newb, thanks for your patience)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Maxtodon

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7
Hi All.

I know there are multiple lowering/towing threads already, so thanks for putting up with yet another one.

I'll confess - I started this one because many of the others contained assumptions of information/knowledge I don't have (yet).

I will soon take delivery of my first truck ever - a 2019 1500 Classic Crew Cab 4x4 5.7L with a 3.92 gear/locking diff and trailer brake controller. This truck will function as my daily and see regular towing duty (4200 lb race car + car trailer) and 2 -3 time a year heavy snow duty. It will never go off road.

I am interested in maybe lowering it 2/4 for two reasons - 1. I like the look and 2. it will make it easier for my (short) wife and (young) kids to get in and out.

I am curious to know what effect a 2/4 drop would have on my ability to tow the car and car trailer. I can't imagine towing anything else in the foreseeable future - certainly not anything bigger/heavier.

Provided installing a complete Belltech 2/4 drop kit (or similar) would not severely compromise my ability to tow the car and trailer, are there additional components the more experienced folks here would recommend to optimize the set up? I have seen Airlift 1000s mentioned, but don't really know anything about helper bags.

This is my first new vehicle in a long time - and there won't be one again soon - so I'm willing to invest a little money, time and effort to get the set up right.

Thanks a ton in advance for your help and insight. Much appreciated.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel