Major engine and tranny failures

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

PTR1962

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
A little history first. I am a fleet manager for a company in central Florida. We have a 2015 Ram 2500 4x4 automatic that had a reman Mopar 6.4 installed about 20k miles ago. This was done a few years ago before i started working for the company. I do not know the story behind the previous engines failure and was not involved in the install of the reman engine. The truck has about 135k on it. I received a call Friday from the employee driving the truck that he was stuck in an intersection and the truck would not move. I sent a tech to the scene because the local police department was there directing traffic around him and he was within a few miles of the shop. When he got there the truck was shut off and now wouldn’t crank. There was coolant all over the right side of the engine bay but the coolant was full and so was the oil. I had it towed back to the shop and upon further inspection we found that the engine is seized up solid. scanned for codes and there is 11 transmission codes that are related to a transmission that was slipping. Everything from gear ratio to pressure codes. There was no engine codes. We got the truck on the lift and pulled the serp belt and starter hoping for the answer to the engine was simple. No such luck. Drained the engine oil and its black but was full and did not see any signs of metal that would lead you to a mechanical failure. I talked with the driver and he proceeded to tell me in broken English how he kept trying to get the truck to move. With giving it gas. Not sure how long he tried that before we arrived or if the engine stalled or was shut off. I inspected the mopar installed overheat tab on the left rear head freeze plug and its pink. That now tells me that the engine got to 255 Deg.