Tire size change alfaOBD

MTBryan

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Posts
7
Reaction score
2
Location
Collierville, Tn
Ram Year
2020
Engine
Hemi 6.4
I know this has been beat to death, but it still wasn't straight forward for me.
I have a 2020 Power Wagon. I have a few notes (as a summary) and a question at the end.

The CAN blocks were tricky to access on my 2020. They are behind the light switch. You can take off the kick plate with 2 7mm screws then pull. Take off the light switch assembly just by pulling hard on that sucker. You can take the plate under the light switch off too by pulling. I was able to get the CAN connectors in OK. But no way getting them out without taking the CAN blocks off their mounting location. Luckily they clip in/out easily. Once you loosen them, you can get a small screwdriver in there to remove the catch pins.

Trying to clear some codes, I disconnected my battery. This completely wiped out all apps. So, my backup camera, air conditioner and satellite radio access icon were gone. I read they will come back on their own after the truck re-loads them. That's what happened! About 3 hours later, after much panic.

I purchased the ODB Link MX+, AlfaODB app for my Android phone, and the Kaodtech bypass cable. Mike at Kaodtech was a HUGE help with my stupid questions trying to figure out where the CAN blocks were located.

Once all hooked up, I followed the instructions on page 1 of this LOOOOONNNNNNGGGGGG thread. And overall it worked. It took about 6 times to get my circumference dialed in for my 35'. Ended up at 2688 mm.

Now for the Question

No matter what I do, I still get a C006A fault (access accelerator sensor) and cannot clear it. When I turn on the engine, both cruise controls are disabled (adaptive and regular) and it says the Stability control has been disabled and needs service. It also says the trailer brake system needs service.

I've performed the resets on page 1 of this tread probably 30 times: Static ECU initialization and clear rolls information. I've done them with push start recycle and without. I've waited 5-10 minutes between cycling with no luck. I've tried other resets too like ECU. I disconnected the battery for 30 minutes: Still no luck. I've stood on my head on a full moon. No luck.

I ended up taking it to the dealership today. they can't get to it for a week. Which is what they told me after a stern lecture (as I expected). Any additional help/thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
 

MTBryan

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Posts
7
Reaction score
2
Location
Collierville, Tn
Ram Year
2020
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Update: I never got my cruise control reset. I had to make an appointment at the dealership. Somehow I deleted the module software for the trailer brake system and electronic stability control, which lead to the cruise control issue. They had to reset EVERYTHING to factory. Cost me $227 bucks and a lecture about using an aftermarket module.
And after all that, they reset my tire size back to stock so my spedo is off again.
So,
$99 for the ODBLink
$50 for AlfaODB
$50 for the Kaodtech security bypass cable
$227 to fix what I broke by trying to use the above.
The dealership did say, for $120 they can change any settings I need (tire size/pressure). I will be selling my cable and ODB module and going that route next time.
 

mtnrider

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2014
Posts
2,269
Reaction score
1,970
Location
Georgia
Ram Year
2016
Engine
6.7 Cummins
The dealership did say, for $120 they can change any settings I need (tire size/pressure). I will be selling my cable and ODB module and going that route next time.

I find that extremely hard to believe. Unless you have a "buddy" there I have not seen 1 single dealer that will change the tire pressure settings, not 1. It is technically illegal to change or disable the TPMS (Tread act) so they are not going to go down that road.

.
 

loki223

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Posts
746
Reaction score
105
Location
Spokane, WA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
Cummins 6.7
So reading the last couple pages for changing tire sizes it seems like there are some issues currently? What are the current steps for Alpha? i have version 2.1.9.5 and am ready to change my size, but also don't want to brick anything or run into some of these issues, 2018 Ram 3500. Running the android variant of alpha
 

CLeng3940

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Posts
30
Reaction score
11
Location
USA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
I changed my tire size and got no faults after backing out of the BCM and cycling my key. Didn’t even go into the abs. Has anyone else encountered this?
 

MathanDubh

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Posts
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Virginia
Ram Year
2017
Engine
Hemi t.7
You have only done the first part. The numbers will display
on the dash, but you'll still get a fault
 

loki223

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Posts
746
Reaction score
105
Location
Spokane, WA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
Cummins 6.7
I did the full procedure listed in post #1 and it worked. Verified with a GPS app on my phone that everything reads correctly, when before it was about 2 mph off
 

UpInSm0kE

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Posts
54
Reaction score
18
Ram Year
2019 Ram 2500 Tradesman
Engine
6.7 Cummins
Update: I never got my cruise control reset. I had to make an appointment at the dealership. Somehow I deleted the module software for the trailer brake system and electronic stability control, which lead to the cruise control issue. They had to reset EVERYTHING to factory. Cost me $227 bucks and a lecture about using an aftermarket module.
And after all that, they reset my tire size back to stock so my spedo is off again.
So,
$99 for the ODBLink
$50 for AlfaODB
$50 for the Kaodtech security bypass cable
$227 to fix what I broke by trying to use the above.
The dealership did say, for $120 they can change any settings I need (tire size/pressure). I will be selling my cable and ODB module and going that route next time.

Man, I think I just did this to my truck as well! 2019 Ram 2500, I changed my tire size to 2695mm with no issues at all but it was slightly off still so I went to change it again and now trailer brake system and service electronic stability control warnings are the only ones popping up. I cannot seem to clear these no matter what I do!
 

MTBryan

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Posts
7
Reaction score
2
Location
Collierville, Tn
Ram Year
2020
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Man, I think I just did this to my truck as well! 2019 Ram 2500, I changed my tire size to 2695mm with no issues at all but it was slightly off still so I went to change it again and now trailer brake system and service electronic stability control warnings are the only ones popping up. I cannot seem to clear these no matter what I do!
Sorry, just saw this. I hope you got it sorted out? My dealer did a reset for $120 bucks and all is well now. Although, they put my tire size back to stock so my spedo is off again. But at this point, I'm happy it's all working.
No more AlfaODB for me!
 
Top