Towing to Alaska: A rookie’s experience

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

orin

Reaction score
Ram Year
'09 2500 ST
Engine
Hemi 5.7
IMG_5496.jpg

Disclaimer

As stated in the title, I’m a noob when it comes to towing. Before this move I’d probably towed 10 or 15 miles total in my life. So, this post isn’t about how you SHOULD do it, but rather how I DID do it. Hopefully it will be interesting to read, might help some people out, or might create a place where others can share their knowledge through comments.
The Mission
My wife and I decided to move to Alaska from southern Colorado. Instead of paying for a uHaul and all that we decided to buy a truck (something we’d been considering for some time) and a trailer and do it ourselves. Friends told us trailers sell pretty well in Alaska (mine did), so the hope was to recoup the trailer money and end up with a nice truck we can use for other adventures in the future.
The Truck
Budget
First, I had to find a truck and I faced what is probably every person’s biggest limiting factor; budget. I wanted to spend $10,000 (okay you can stop laughing now!), realized $15,000 was more realistic after a bit of research, and knew my max was $17,000, which was all I had saved up. As anyone who owns a full-size truck already knows, they are expensive! As with any purchase I knew there would be compromises to stay within my budget, but what did I really NEED to get the job done?
Half ton vs Three-quarter ton