Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tps replacement

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Mleads310, Jan 12, 2021.

  1. Mleads310

    Mleads310 Senior Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Location:
    NYC
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    I have a tps sensor acting up on me on my 2013 1500 and about to buy the replacement mopar sensor. My question is, after I replace the sensor do I have to do anything for it to sync with the truck?
     
  2. kmrtnsn

    kmrtnsn Senior Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2019
    Location:
    Ventura
    Ram Year:
    2019
    Engine:
    5.7
    Not a thing. The vehicle reads the wheel mounted sensor all by itself. As long as it’s the right model/frequency it’ll take care of itself.
     
  3. Billet Bee

    Billet Bee Member

    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2021
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ram Year:
    2020
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7 HOHD
    Easy breezy, truck does the work.
     
  4. Bigskyroadglide

    Bigskyroadglide Senior Member

    Posts:
    356
    Likes Received:
    482
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2011
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    If you buy from Mopar / dealer make certain they check the frequency of the needed sensor by the VIN.

    2013 was, I believe the year they changed frequencies and you want to buy the correct one. I believe it was a mid year change.
     
    1SloRam likes this.
  5. Mleads310

    Mleads310 Senior Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Location:
    NYC
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7
    It's great news I'm happy it's that simple. Also I use the Mopar website and use my VIN number to part!!

    guys, thank you as always with the fast replies. This site is a great resource!
     
  6. Billet Bee

    Billet Bee Member

    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2021
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ram Year:
    2020
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7 HOHD
    Doing the trailer tires was almost as effort less. Took me 4 minutes to do 4 trailer tires. Let 3-5 psi out of each tire when you here the horn chirp, it's synced to truck, move to the next tire
     
  7. Bob Johnson

    Bob Johnson Junior Member

    Age:
    53
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    6.4 Hemi
    The factory TPMS will also monitor trailer tires?
     
  8. Billet Bee

    Billet Bee Member

    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2021
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ram Year:
    2020
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7 HOHD
    That's what I was referring to. I had mine installed at a quick tire shop then i programmed them in effortlessly. When i get my tri axle ill buy some more. You can do something like 4 different trailers with up to around a dozen tires each. I have heard though that on your long trailers, sometimes the ttpms Reciever won't read the sensors if your trailer is really long. I'm thinking if I have this happen when I get my tri axle, ill have an Extention made for my Reciever plug so I can magnet it to my truck and easily move it back to trailer.
     
  9. Graygoose

    Graygoose Indecisive Car Owner Supporting Member

    Posts:
    14,784
    Likes Received:
    22,043
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ram Year:
    Convert, for now.
    Engine:
    small
    Allmoparparts on here, Benny, I got 4 for my new Jeep under $100 shipped.
    True Mopar stuff.
     

Share This Page