Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums > Dodge Ram Generations Forum > 4th Gen : 2009 - Present > Audio & Electronics


Audio & Electronics

Uconnect RA2 to RA4 upgrade assistance


This is a discussion on Uconnect RA2 to RA4 upgrade assistance within the Audio & Electronics forums, part of the 4th Gen : 2009 - Present category!
The volume knob I see is separate from the radio itself. It would make sense if somehow the volume knob ...


Like Tree9Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2014, 07:45 PM   #21 (permalink)
 
Jared4.7's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, KS
Age: 36
Posts: 791

Ram Year: 2014 Express CC
Engine: 5.7
Default
The volume knob I see is separate from the radio itself. It would make sense if somehow the volume knob had wiring that ran right back to the 8.4. If a guy could find that in some schematics I'm sure it would have to be a simple fix and wiring addition.


Sponsored Ad
Register to remove this ad.


__________________
-Jared

Last edited by Jared4.7; 09-02-2014 at 07:47 PM.
Jared4.7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 11:14 PM   #22 (permalink)
 
Jared4.7's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, KS
Age: 36
Posts: 791

Ram Year: 2014 Express CC
Engine: 5.7
Default
Looking over some wiring in Express vs SLT trucks via: https://techauthorityonlinedemo.extr...ew/classic.htm
Comparing the plugs at the rear of the radio I can locate no definitive Volume In wires. So, for the few that did swap to the 8.4 in their 5.0 trucks I have a question. The module the volume button is a part of is called "CENTER STACK UPPER." When you connected everything there is a smaller 8 pin plug on that module, how is that plug populated (Wire color/code)? Can somebody possibly tell me? I think that plug is how the radio is getting volume commands over CAN. If the wiring is the same on that 8 pin plug from truck to truck then I kinda wonder if its a programming issue and the truck isnt recognizing commands from that volume knob. Could it possibly be as simple as adding the RA3/4 sales code??


__________________
-Jared

Last edited by Jared4.7; 09-03-2014 at 12:00 AM.
Jared4.7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 08:58 PM   #23 (permalink)
 
Jared4.7's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, KS
Age: 36
Posts: 791

Ram Year: 2014 Express CC
Engine: 5.7
Default
So for those that swapped and used the manual bezel, what worked and what didnt??


__________________
-Jared
Jared4.7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 09:09 AM   #24 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 41
Posts: 40

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
I still haven't tried yet. It really looks like there is a different wiring harness but I don't know for sure. Just what I have seen on tech authority makes it look like its a different wire. I'm on the fence about whether I'm going to attempt it further and may sell the parts I collected. I'm holding out on one piece of information from a contact and that will be the determining factor to sell or not.
aqualite75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 09:22 PM   #25 (permalink)
 
Rherman1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sunny Florida
Age: 55
Posts: 404

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 5.7 hemi
Default
I swapped my 5.0 out to the 8.4 with nav. the climate control does not work but it shows the temp and the fan level on the screen. I get a have phone serviced error that comes up once in a while when I start the truck. But our good friend cgeorgemo explained to me that the other truck that has the 8.4 has the 911 and uconnect access on the mirror my truck doesn't. Other than that the nav shows up in the cluster and everything works fine so far. I change the volume and channels from the steering wheel, you can also change the channels and put them in manually from the touch screen.

Last edited by Rherman1; 11-07-2014 at 09:25 PM.
Rherman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 01:11 AM   #26 (permalink)
 
yodge's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Huntington Beach CA
Age: 22
Posts: 852

Ram Year: 2013 ram 1500 hemi
Engine: 5.7 Hemi
Default
Originally Posted by Rherman1 View Post
I swapped my 5.0 out to the 8.4 with nav. the climate control does not work but it shows the temp and the fan level on the screen. I get a have phone serviced error that comes up once in a while when I start the truck. But our good friend cgeorgemo explained to me that the other truck that has the 8.4 has the 911 and uconnect access on the mirror my truck doesn't. Other than that the nav shows up in the cluster and everything works fine so far. I change the volume and channels from the steering wheel, you can also change the channels and put them in manually from the touch screen.

Where did you get your 8.4? And how much did you pay?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
yodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 06:45 AM   #27 (permalink)
 
Rherman1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sunny Florida
Age: 55
Posts: 404

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 5.7 hemi
Default
I got it from a recycle yard in Virginia, it was $250 shipped to my door.
Rherman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:22 AM   #28 (permalink)
 
yodge's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Huntington Beach CA
Age: 22
Posts: 852

Ram Year: 2013 ram 1500 hemi
Engine: 5.7 Hemi
Default
You guys are getting so lucky with these units. I can't find one with nav for under $500 and I don't have any salvage yards close to here that have anything newer than a 2002 dodge


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
yodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:27 AM   #29 (permalink)
 
yodge's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Huntington Beach CA
Age: 22
Posts: 852

Ram Year: 2013 ram 1500 hemi
Engine: 5.7 Hemi
Default
Originally Posted by Rherman1 View Post
I got it from a recycle yard in Virginia, it was $250 shipped to my door.

Question for you. Did you already have nav in your truck before that radio? Can you simply buy one with navigation and install the radio with the needed gps antenna and it would work without a dealer flash ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
yodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:36 AM   #30 (permalink)
 
Rherman1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sunny Florida
Age: 55
Posts: 404

Ram Year: 2014
Engine: 5.7 hemi
Default
I did not have Nav, just hook it up and turn the truck on it works fine, you will need to get an unlock code from the dealer. No flash needed. If you dont have steering wheel controls for the audio on the back of the steering wheel you cant control the volume. If you dont have the audio controls on the wheel, there is a thread on how to install it and all the parts needed, plug and play.

Last edited by Rherman1; 11-08-2014 at 10:40 AM.
Rherman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UConnect upgrade jabaniz Audio & Electronics 1 07-26-2014 10:26 AM
2013 Uconnect 8.4a (RA3) Nav Upgrade bdkramer42 Audio & Electronics 26 01-28-2014 10:16 AM
Uconnect 8.4AN upgrade El Ram Audio & Electronics 0 08-21-2013 09:52 PM
2013 Uconnect 3.0 stereo upgrade to aftermarket. Gtikid98 Audio & Electronics 12 07-07-2013 07:45 AM
Upgrade from 130 to Uconnect 430 clamps Audio & Electronics 23 02-26-2013 07:41 PM

<




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum