Uconnect RA2 to RA4 upgrade assistance

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by aqualite75, Aug 10, 2014.

  1. Jared4.7

    Jared4.7 Senior Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    872
    Likes Received:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
    Ram Year:
    2017 Bighorn CC
    Engine:
    5.7
    The volume knob I see is separate from the radio itself. It would make sense if somehow the volume knob had wiring that ran right back to the 8.4. If a guy could find that in some schematics I'm sure it would have to be a simple fix and wiring addition.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2014
  2. Jared4.7

    Jared4.7 Senior Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    872
    Likes Received:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
    Ram Year:
    2017 Bighorn CC
    Engine:
    5.7
    Looking over some wiring in Express vs SLT trucks via: https://techauthorityonlinedemo.extra.chrysler.com/service/repair/wiring/view/classic.htm
    Comparing the plugs at the rear of the radio I can locate no definitive Volume In wires. So, for the few that did swap to the 8.4 in their 5.0 trucks I have a question. The module the volume button is a part of is called "CENTER STACK UPPER." When you connected everything there is a smaller 8 pin plug on that module, how is that plug populated (Wire color/code)? Can somebody possibly tell me? I think that plug is how the radio is getting volume commands over CAN. If the wiring is the same on that 8 pin plug from truck to truck then I kinda wonder if its a programming issue and the truck isnt recognizing commands from that volume knob. Could it possibly be as simple as adding the RA3/4 sales code??
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
  3. Jared4.7

    Jared4.7 Senior Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    872
    Likes Received:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
    Ram Year:
    2017 Bighorn CC
    Engine:
    5.7
    So for those that swapped and used the manual bezel, what worked and what didnt??
     
  4. aqualite75

    aqualite75 Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Location:
    Middle Tennessee
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I still haven't tried yet. It really looks like there is a different wiring harness but I don't know for sure. Just what I have seen on tech authority makes it look like its a different wire. I'm on the fence about whether I'm going to attempt it further and may sell the parts I collected. I'm holding out on one piece of information from a contact and that will be the determining factor to sell or not.
     
  5. Rherman1

    Rherman1 Senior Member

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    407
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7 hemi
    I swapped my 5.0 out to the 8.4 with nav. the climate control does not work but it shows the temp and the fan level on the screen. I get a have phone serviced error that comes up once in a while when I start the truck. But our good friend cgeorgemo explained to me that the other truck that has the 8.4 has the 911 and uconnect access on the mirror my truck doesn't. Other than that the nav shows up in the cluster and everything works fine so far. I change the volume and channels from the steering wheel, you can also change the channels and put them in manually from the touch screen.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014
  6. yodge

    yodge Senior Member

    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    175
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    Huntington Beach CA
    Ram Year:
    2013 ram 1500 hemi
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi

    Where did you get your 8.4? And how much did you pay?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. Rherman1

    Rherman1 Senior Member

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    407
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7 hemi
    I got it from a recycle yard in Virginia, it was $250 shipped to my door.
     
  8. yodge

    yodge Senior Member

    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    175
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    Huntington Beach CA
    Ram Year:
    2013 ram 1500 hemi
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    You guys are getting so lucky with these units. I can't find one with nav for under $500 and I don't have any salvage yards close to here that have anything newer than a 2002 dodge


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. yodge

    yodge Senior Member

    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    175
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    Huntington Beach CA
    Ram Year:
    2013 ram 1500 hemi
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi

    Question for you. Did you already have nav in your truck before that radio? Can you simply buy one with navigation and install the radio with the needed gps antenna and it would work without a dealer flash ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. Rherman1

    Rherman1 Senior Member

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    407
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7 hemi
    I did not have Nav, just hook it up and turn the truck on it works fine, you will need to get an unlock code from the dealer. No flash needed. If you dont have steering wheel controls for the audio on the back of the steering wheel you cant control the volume. If you dont have the audio controls on the wheel, there is a thread on how to install it and all the parts needed, plug and play.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2014

Share This Page