2004 Dodge Ram SLT 5.7 whining noise in rear of car

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

shelby5041

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
hi my dodge ram recently has been making a whining noise and it sounds like it is coming from the rear

when i drive faster the pitch get higher and when i slow down when i come to a stop sign it gets less high pitch and louder

the sound is similar to when someone has extremely off road tires and you can hear them coming down the street

i have searched online forums and it seems it could be a rear differential issue

i emailed dodge to see if they can email me spec sheet of my vehicle...

any help would be appreciated....i am not an auto mechanic ...i have since stopped driving the vehicle since if it is serious i dont want to cause more damage or get stranded.....

thank you

OP
OP
S

shelby5041

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
fyi the noise is present all the time....as long as the truck is moving the sound is there

with or without giving it gas.....its always there ....if its being driven

chedched

Reaction score
Ram Year
2019 Power Wagon
Engine
6.4 Hemi
Either your tires are worn excessively (chopped/feathered/cupped) or your rear differential is making noise. My rear axle has made noise since I bought it and it's just fine.

OP
OP
S

shelby5041

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
hi

hi....well the noise happens even at low speeds and even while on snow so it cant be tires since on snow the tires would be quiet

also you say urs has made the noise since new?

maybe its a defect......this seems to be a common issue with rams.

how do u know your whining is ok?...

OP
OP
S

shelby5041

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
wow no replies to such a common problem?

Jimmy68

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.2L Magnum