Audio Upgrade & Modification Basics!

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by MADDOG, May 25, 2012.

  1. kwend

    kwend Member

    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    Ram Year:
    2012
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    If you have an aftermarket deck, you would want to run the camera to an accessory power source. You can get this right at the deck since you need to run the video from the camera there also. The camera would not need a reverse wire signal. Only the Pioneer deck.
     
  2. frascona

    frascona Banned

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    Hemi
    My aftermarket deck has an input for the backup camera that is a simple RCA plug. The deck automatically knows when you are in reverse... through the wiring harness, and switches to that input for the signal. Then when you go to drive, the input changes back to the DVD or radio.
     
  3. Bkhsvt

    Bkhsvt Senior Member

    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7
    Ideally you wouldn't want to run an amp at 1 ohm, that is just making the amp work harder. This will potentially send the amp into protect/overheat or shorten the life of the amplifier. You would want to purchase the amp that has the power you want in higher resistances such as 2 or 4 ohms....is going to sound better, run longer and give less problems ;)
     
    jgruberman likes this.
  4. Etroze86

    Etroze86 Senior Member

    Posts:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    834
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Location:
    Grand Forks ND
    Ram Year:
    2011
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    I would agree if it is an amp not built to run down to 1ohm but if you have one that has been built it is just fine to run it that low. The biggest thing is to have upgraded electricals to handle the larger amprage draw.
     
  5. Bkhsvt

    Bkhsvt Senior Member

    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7
    This isn't a topic that is about numbers on a box, or upgrading your "electricals" there's a lot of things one can do, but doesn't mean it's best, you could run 87 octane on your 91 octane tune with your diablo intune. It would prob not run as good tho right? But hey, this Murcia people do a lot of weird stuff, I'll stick to ohms law and what I've been taught, keeps people from coming back to my shop with audio problems and dead amps or burned down trucks.
     
    ShortCourse and Dubsport like this.
  6. Etroze86

    Etroze86 Senior Member

    Posts:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    834
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Location:
    Grand Forks ND
    Ram Year:
    2011
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Ah speaking from a business point of view you are right but I for one have never seen dead amps, burnt up trucks or audio problems by keeping it within specs that come from the side of that box or installed properly(not saying you or your shop doesn't install properly just saying from a DIY point of view). Look at it this way if you are going to play big and wire that low you would absolutely have to upgrade electricals to support this and it will keep your amps alive just as long as if wired to 4 or 2 ohms as long as the amp is made for that low.
    Not an argument and not saying I know more but I do know with people doing things themsleves on a forum giving them proper information rather than don't do it is a bigger help. You said it, this is Murcia and people will do what they want. Most will shoot for the big numbers on the side of the amp box.
     
    crazykid1994 likes this.
  7. kohj

    kohj Junior Member

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7
    I have a base audio system with the RA2 and i cant seem to get the LOC to send signal, I tapped into the LOC wire and ran speaker wire the the high level inputs on the amp and it works so i know the LOC is connected to the right wires and those wire are sending signal to the LOC, Any ideas on this one. I know the sound wont be much different but i spent to much time running and hiding wires to start over. but i may have no choice.
     
  8. ramdude916

    ramdude916 Senior Member

    Posts:
    210
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Location:
    sac
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    That's a badass looking truck David. I need those black rims!

    Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk
     
  9. ramdude916

    ramdude916 Senior Member

    Posts:
    210
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Location:
    sac
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    .

    Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk
     
  10. DavidRam

    DavidRam Senior Member

    Posts:
    9,075
    Likes Received:
    3,776
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal - Redondo Beach
    Ram Year:
    2012 RCSB
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Whoa, that was weird. :hmm:
     

Share This Page