NOS 04 Ram 4 x 4 build

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ram04

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Newbie here, so bear with and I will bring things up to speed.(hopefully this is the correct place to post this)

I am the original owner of a 5.7l Hemi quad cab short box 4 x 4. The truck came with 3:55 gears and a very strange tire combo that I was unaware of until recently. More on that later.

It has been a Phenomenal truck for the past 14 years and as fate would have it, still in practically new condition! No accidents, only 110,000kms and very well maintained.

Up until a year ago I had only done the transfer case seal, other than regular maintenance, plugs/ filters/ fluids.

about a year ago I noticed the oil pan leaking from rusting through which I thought was strange, but after doing some research it seemed like the factory either used badly manufactured pans or they were just coated poorly. I ended up replacing the oil pan and did the trans pan as well as it had begun to seep. Also gave me a chance to service the trans filters and complete fluid change.

Brakes still had life, but pads were looking old and brittle and rotors rusty so did the brakes all around.

Only mods I did to truck when I first got it were Superchips tuner and I modded the interm. exhaust pipe where the two meet and opened it up for better flow as well as replaced the factory muffler with a straight through resonator.

Truck has always averaged 16-17mpg with 70/30 to 60/40 hwy/city driving which seemed pretty good to me.(a few less during winter where it's spending time warming up)