Orange sludge under radiator cap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rome X

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Hi all,

Just bought this truck recently, and the radiator fan is really loud, especially in 1st and 2nd gear, and anytime I'm coasting down hill especially.

I check the radiator overflow and its bone dry. I open the radiator cap and this is what I find...
From some basic research it looks like 2 incompatible coolants were mixed, making this rusty looking sludge?

I am brand new to doing anything on my own vehicles, but was thinking of trying to flush this out myself and replace with new coolant. Seems most people also replace the thermostat when they flush the radiator? Anyone willing to offer advice or have a good, reputable, video walkthrough for this process for a 2013 Ram 1500 v8? Would certainly appreciate it.

ram sludge.JPG

ram sludge2.JPG

buckeyexx

Reaction score
Ram Year
2016 Power Wagon
Engine
6.4 Hemi
Yeah definitely not good. It does apper to be mixed coolant. You can try to flush but Im betting you will need a new radiator at least if not a whole lot more. That heater core has to be plugged up. Are you getting heat? Best of luck on that one.

OP
OP
R

Rome X

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
The local RAM dealer does coolant flushes and new coolant for $139. They said if I want a new thermostat too, they can do like a pressured flush while that is open and it will get more gunk out. They also use coolant system chemical cleaners, and refill with mopar coolant. So the price seemed pretty reasonable for the flush at the dealer. My concern is they say it will end up needing thousands of dollars of other stuff to fix this and then I'm stuck. I dont have the money for a new radiator etc.

OP
OP
R

Rome X

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi