Routine radiator replacement?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

reek

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 RAM 2500 CC 4x4, 72 D100, 73 D100, 01 RAM 2500 field truck
Engine
6.4 Hemi
So I'm currently in the middle of my 10 year (almost) and 100k mile tune up. New plugs, new belt and pullies, new water pump, thermostat, hoses. Crazy you have to take the intake manifold off for this which mandates replacing the EGR return cooling hose. also doing the inlet as well (might as well). This last part is why a one day job has turned into more. Waiting on the EGR hoses.

anyway, talking to the parts guy, I get a recommendation to replace the radiator since they usually only last 10 years. I'm thinking WTF. My radiator in my 2015 6.4 is just fine. I've never done a pre-emptive radiator swap before. Is this a thing and have I just been lucky in the past? We do a lot of long distance travel trailer towing so if I need to be doing this, I will.

anyone know if this is something that really should be done?

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
Are you sure he wasn't recommending to replace the EGR cooler itself? They live a hard life cooling high temp exhaust gases along with corrosiveness.
Your probably more likely to need to replace the heater core than the radiator itself.

OP
OP
R

reek

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
that does make more sense but, no. the guy was referring specifically to the radiator. Maybe he was just F-ing with me. although, at $300 for OEM mopar radiator, it was tempting.

GTyankee

Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 ecodiesel
Was the person that recommended a replacement radiator at a Radiator Shop or at some place like Midas or Firestone or worse yet, a Dodge Dealership ?