Up-Shifting problem! Help?... :(

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ZakkBaker

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L HEMI
I have a manual 2002 Ram and it runs good and all, Dad just had a new transmission put in a year or so ago before he gave it to me. Ive had the truck since i started learning how to drive stick...So its had its share of grinding gears and rough shifts. But basically when i go to upshift into 2nd it doesnt immediately let me. I have to wait 3 seconds and then it lets me in. Same as i go into 3rd. 4th and 5th(Though 4th and 5th arent AS bad..) Its is very strange, maybe it has always been like this and i am just being weird...but i dont think so. I thought i could go straight from 1st to 2nd to 3rd quickly with no hesitation. It used to just slide in. not anymore, it is almost like there is a wall there. Something blocking it. or it is having trouble finding the gear or something. And if i don't wait that 3 seconds (literally 3!!) and i TRY to push it, it makes that nasty grinding metal on metal sound. and then itll let me in after 3 secs.. but by the time i get in the next gear, my rpms are so low, it slowly bogs till i get going or i have to downshift (especially uphills). The other day when i was driving i was hearing some odd sounds down below, then i noticed the problem. So maybe something happened ? :( Y'all know more than me! Got any ideas or any place to start? What it could be or what i can do to find out? Because this isnt normal.. thanks!

OP
OP
ZakkBaker

ZakkBaker

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L HEMI
damn Not sure, assuming clutch was around the same time. Ill have to ask. and pressure plate? I doubt that too lol.

OP
OP
ZakkBaker

ZakkBaker

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L HEMI