Water damaged/Flooded, No power to most electronics

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jake_

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Flex Fuel 4.7
Hey Y'all,

This is my first time posting in a forum so apologies for any mistakes with posting. Anyway, I've recently got a hold of a (basically free) 2011 Ram 1500 4.7 from a close friend, and as the title says, it's a flood truck. It was fully submerged for about 8 hours in freshwater during a local flood. and I acquired the truck about a month later. Mechanically, everything on the truck seems fine. The engine was never cranked after being flooded and I've done the necessary stuff, checks for hydro lock, fluid flush, spark plug removal, hand crank, remove water from cylinders, etc etc...

Now, onto the electronics. I've stripped out the interior, pulled the dash and dried, cleaned, removed any corrosion, and coated dielectric grease on nearly every connector under the dash, as well as all the main harness points under the truck/in the engine bay.

After a quick inspection, the TIPM/Fuse box had quite a bit of corrosion so I swapped it with a (confirmed to be working) TIPM from a same year, same spec ram. However, The truck still isn't getting any power, I am getting full volts to the main power cable on the fuse and a good portion of fuses are getting full volts with the key turned on. (I don't know which ones should or shouldn't be getting voltage). I am getting some volts to the ignition (I don't remember how much off the top of my head but it was low) but other than that the truck is completely dead. The ONLY functional electronic on the truck is the 4-Way Flashers/hazard lights. No door chime, no interior lights, gauge cluster flickers, horn, cigarette lighter, windows, nothing. I am also not able to remove the truck from park without pushing in the release button.