2014 Ram 5.7 Hemi coolant total drain and fill

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BenHogan

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hi, Newbie here needs advise from you all. Trying to flush out old coolant but opening petcock only gave out 4qts. I thought the coolant capacity is 16qts. Am I missing something here? I do not mind wasting bunch of distilled water by draining 1 gallon at a time but when you add new coolant how can you add right amount since you cannot take out anymore than 1/4 of capacity. Would appreciate all your help on this.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
since the coolant is being removed, replace the thermostat with an OEM one and back flush the heater core. You can use compressed air to blow the coolant out. You'll also want consider using one of the cooling system filling tools, it pulls the cooling system into a vacuum then sucks the coolant in. Less likely having to deal with purging air from the system.

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi
It's a quagmire, once systems get old it pays to just empty and fill with pre mix every year, keeps it a bit fresh. If you ever have any signs of rust or slime, rmi 25 is the simple answer. I do this every summer, my passenger side coolant bolt is stripped and the drivers side is near impossible to get to.

OP
OP
B

BenHogan

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7