2016 RAM 2500 TPMS

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by bobnap, Jan 12, 2019 at 2:53 PM.

  1. bobnap

    bobnap Junior Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    6.4 Hemi
    I have a 2016 2500 I purchased used last March. it had aftermarket wheels on it at the time of purchase and the low pressure light was on and TPMS showed blanks for tire pressure for all tires. I assumed whoever put the aftermarket wheels on didn’t install sensors. I just had the truck in for an oil change and to have several recalls addressed. When I got the truck back the TPMS was showing actual tire pressures for all wheels all reading between 37-38 if I remember correctly. The actual pressure in the tires is in the 55 lb range. I’m assuming the dealer did a software update to address one of the recalls and this must have done something to the TPMS. Now when I start the car I get the TPMS message blinking and showing inaccurate pressure for all tires as well as the little orange low pressure light. I’d like to figure out if there’s a way to get back to where I only see the little orange low pressure light like it used to as the blinking display is annoying.

    Appreciate any and all input.

    Thanks.

    Bob
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019 at 2:44 PM
  2. MADDOG

    MADDOG Super Moderator Staff Member Military Member

    Posts:
    9,971
    Likes Received:
    3,732
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
    That's weird. Sounds like they tapped into the BCM to reset it or update it as part of the recalls.

    I'd take it back to the dealer and talk to the tech or your service advisor.

    They may not be able to reverse the the update and if so, one solution would be to install a sensor in each wheel. Dorman makes replacement sensors for your truck so you don't have to pay full dealer retail for a set.
     
  3. Tach_tech

    Tach_tech Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    975
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    5.7L HEMI
    What recalls were done? There was a recall that involved replacing all 4 tire pressure sensors?
     
  4. bobnap

    bobnap Junior Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    6.4 Hemi
    Thanks for the input. The recalls performed were:
    • Reprogram of powertrain module
    • Tailgate latch
    • Occupant restraint control module
    • Transmission solonoid pack (part on order)
    Since I assumed there were no sensors in the wheel when I purchased the truck I made the dealer give me 4 sensors at no cost with the plan to install them when I need tires. I will contact my service advisor next week to see what he thinks.

    Thanks.

    Bob
     
  5. MADDOG

    MADDOG Super Moderator Staff Member Military Member

    Posts:
    9,971
    Likes Received:
    3,732
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
    Good luck!
     
  6. Tach_tech

    Tach_tech Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    975
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    5.7L HEMI
    None of those recalls should effect the TPMS system. It’s controlled by the RF hub which.
     
  7. Killingsworth

    Killingsworth Junior Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Location:
    Parkersburg, WV
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    Hemi
    Mine have been doing something similar. Had OEM wheels and tires put on with TPMS. Took forever but they finally started reading (like 100 miles or so later). Read fine for 500 miles, then stopped reading again about two weeks ago. Frustrating.
     
  8. 1500ram12

    1500ram12 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    It's possible that the updates "Reset" the rf hub and now is reading the tire pressure. If you have manually checked the tire pressure and it's the same as what the truck is showing than most likely that's what happened. HD truck's require something around 60-65 psi in the front and 80 in the rear. Since your tires are only rated for 55 obviously you can't me the threshold. I'm not a 100% sure if on a 16 the dealer can still lower the thresholds or not but a lot of people on here have had luck doing it themselves. You'll need a obdlink mx/+ ($80-100) either a windows laptop or tablet or any android phone/tablet (can pick up a kindle fire HD 7 new for $50 on Amazon), and the Alphaobd app/program (Google play store or website for $50). You can also program just about anything factory option also.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
    Killingsworth likes this.
  9. bobnap

    bobnap Junior Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    6.4 Hemi
    Thanks. Tire pressure was approx 55 for all tires and readings are 38 on 3 tires and 1 at 37. I tried 2 things. First I aired up to specs in door. 60 front , 80 rear. No change in readings so then I disconnected battery to see if that would reset and still no change. I’m going to call the service advisor tomorrow to see if he has any ideas.

    Bob
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019 at 4:38 PM
  10. 1500ram12

    1500ram12 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    The tech did something it looks like.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     

Share This Page