Has anyone installed a spacekap Diablo service body?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Exeter Remodeling

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Has anyone installed a fiberglass spacekap Diablo transferable service body on their long bed? I am considering replacing my ARE commercial cap with one. I am a contractor and have gone back and forth between cargo vans and pickup trucks for many years. I need the utility of a van but much prefer the ride and capability of a truck. Three years ago I sold my Ford Transit van (250, high roof) and bought my current 2018 tradesman 2500; 6.4 hemi, crew cab, 4x4. I absolutely love this truck! It’s very comfortable, is very well appointed for a work truck, has huge back seats and is a beast off road and in the snow. There’s only two things that are not ideal- stopping at the gas station of course (Each cylinder is like a shot glass full of gas!!) and for the type of work I do, the utility could be better but it’s not the truck-it’s me. The truck came with the fifth wheel setup, plow package, towing package, etc. I’ve never towed or plowed in my life. I didn’t need or want any of those things but the truck was the only white one left and I got it for $39k out the door brand new so I bought it anyway. I put in a bed slide and an ARE DCU commercial cap with full length side doors and extra deep tool boxes as well as a lumber rack. It does the job but as a carpenter who also does all my own tile installs, drywall, cabinet installations, plumbing work, etc., I’ve found I really need a van.
I swore I would never go back to another van after the last one! I hate driving them, need four wheel drive (Lots of snow in the winter plus my son and I love to drive on the beach and surf fish) and back seats.