Help please, Swaping Hemi 5.7 due to hydrolock

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

projnostic

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Ok so I'm new to this and am looking for instructions on how to remove everything and what to do. I lost the motor and have a replacement ready to go in. I am doing this myself as I am a poor student. lol and write ups or a list of what to do would be greatly appreciated.

HemiLonestar

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
First of all:
05 FSM
05 Parts Man
You will need these. Disconnect the battery. Take pictures, the more detail the better. When you do start removing stuff, LABEL EVERYTHING. Bag your fasteners, then LABEL WHAT THEY ARE FOR. This is in CAPS because this is where people screw up the most. They go to put it back together and then stand there scratching their head wondering 'where does this go?'. Read the FSM in detail, but this is pretty much how it will go:
1. Put it where you're going to work on it. Unless you have ALOT of help, don't expect to move it for awhile.
2. Disconnect the battery.
3. Take your pictures in and around the engine.
4. Label everything that will be disconnected or removed; wires, parts, etc.
5. Drain coolant, disconnect/remove everything connected to the radiator, as this will be coming out along with the shroud, mech fan and puke tank.
6. In the FSM is proper way to bleed down your fuel system. Then you need to disconnect the supply line from the rail on the intake.
7. Disconnect your accessories, On some of these it will be easier to remove it from the engine, i.e leave the A/C compressor ******* out of the way so you don't have to screw with refrigerant. Disconnect alternator and power steering pump.