Not sure what I have going on

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Xsniper

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hi everyone, new to the thread. So, I have a 2016 Ram Hemi 5.7 with about 138,000 miles on it. At about the 65,000-mile mark I had the ticking from the broken manifold exhaust bolts on the driver's side. Repaired by the dealer no issues other than the cost, of course it was just out of warranty. Well recently the passenger side started ticking, I am not a mechanic but knew this was something I could tackle, which I did. I replaced the exhaust manifold, seal and all of the bolts and the heat shield. No more ticking on the cold start...but...now when I am driving and I give it a little gas, I hear a soft "ticking" or "clicking" noise, which wasn't there before. I thought maybe the exhaust was leaking, since I did just play with that, so I loosened everything back up and retightened the manifold to the cat and then re tightened all of the manifold bolts. Seemed to help a little, but I can still hear some noise when accelerating, and it isn't every time which is why I am confused. Is it possible the exhaust still isn't sealed properly, or is it the lifters? I will add, while the truck is just idling there is no noise at all. I hear it most when giving it gas while driving, not sitting in the driveway or at a stop light.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Tulecreeper

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi