Pulling evap core

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ryan J

Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 Laramie limited
Engine
5.7 hemi
My evap core is leaking at the firewall. I can hear it leaking from under the hood. I am an hvac tech so i know my way around a system. My suction hose coming off the metering device had gotten bent. I replaced it, all the gaskets, and orings at the firewall and on evap core behind the metering device. Its still leaking. I think a line or something broke when the suction line got bent. So im planning on pulling the center console, dash and evap box. Im changing the evap, should i change the heater core and blend doors while its out? 2012 with 165k miles on it. Ive noticed in the past that with the fan turned all the way up, it doesnt blow all that hard and i can hear it blowing hard almost like something is blocking air flow. I dont have any issues with one side being cold and the other hot or anything. The air did get cold, just seems like the air flow is weak. I replaced the blower a few years ago so it is newer. Anybody thats done this and did or didnt change everything while it was out, whats yals opinion?

And i plan on doing the filter mod also.

Elvira

Reaction score
Yes, if you are going to all that trouble to remove and replace evap core...do the heater core too for the sake of a bit more money for the core.. You can also check blend doors and any obstructions in heater box. Now is the time to do and do right with it all apart.

Daw14

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
It will be apart , never had a filter for core ,absolutely all maintenance possible while it’s open .

OP
OP
Ryan J

Ryan J

Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 Laramie limited
Engine
5.7 hemi
It will be apart , never had a filter for core ,absolutely all maintenance possible while it’s open .