Questions about after market double din install on 2009 laramie 1500...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jkone379

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I know this topic has been mentioned in the past before but after 2 hours of searching I couldn't find clear answers as most threads are from 10 years ago. I am a complete newbie at stereo related stuff and it is way harder than I thought to find help on the internet as there is virtually nothing about my specific situation so bare with me. I am installing a Dual Electronics DMCPA70BT in a 2009 Ram 1500 Laramie. I believe it has the "premium" sound system which means it has a factory amp? I want to keep the steering wheel volume controls and definitely the reverse camera. I have already ordered a dash kit for mounting it and an adapter for the antenna but I am confused about the wiring. The two wiring harnesses that came with the new radio are a tad confusing because one is like you would think with stripped wire ends ready to be connected but the other one has RCA looking plugs. They both plug into separate slots in the radio. What I am really confused about is the wiring harness in the truck. There are 6 different plugs. 2 large multi pin connectors, one grey and one white which have many different wires. More than any of the videos explained about the color codes. And one smaller grey multi pin which I believe is for the sirius xm? So i can ignore it? and then three single plugs: blue, yellow, and white. I know one of them is the antenna (I'm pretty sure it's yellow?). But not sure about the other ones. Do I have to get a stereo interface like the Pac RP4-CH11? From what I can see, it only has one slot to plug in to one of the multi pin connectors, so what about the other one? So my main questions are what do the separate blue, white, and yellow wires do? and do i have to u