2019 2500 4x4 anti spin diff type

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

matteee

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Hemi
Hi everybody,

I just joined this forum because I’m about to buy a new truck and have a very specific technical question. I am a contractor and use the truck for hard work, frequently off-road, and I’ve needed a locking or limited slip diff. “Anti spin differential” is listed as an option but offers no details about the type. Amazingly, no dealer I’ve talked to can answer what to me seems like a simple question. All they say is “DSA anti spin” whatever that means. I’ve also looked on the Ram web site and done endless searches before coming here. All I’ve found is generalities and assumptions. I’m a gear head and want specific info because I know what’s worked for me and what has been lacking. I’ve not loved clutch type or viscous coupling. I’ve heard maybe it’s a mechanical Torsen type, which is fine. I had a Chevy with the one they’ve been using forever and it was okay, though it’s got a reputation for exploding under load. So what is it? I’m hoping something like an Eaton True Trac. Anyway, any help would be great, because if it’s not a decent mechanical one I’ll pass on the option and have a proper locker or True Trac installed.

thanks much and I hope to be back talking about my awesome new truck soon. I test drove one today and was really impressed. So comfy. I like the coil multi-link rear end. Great ride and a HUGE step up from the old GMC I’ve been driving for the last ten years. I’m excited but need to know what’s up with that diff.

Cheers

Travelin Ram

Reaction score
Somewhere in NA. Probably. We travel a lot.
Ram Year
Engine