8spd swap questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

NitroHvy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
Hi,
First time posting, long time reader and yeah, I have read most of all the 8spd swap threads, I think.

My question is what year 8HP70 do I buy? My truck: 2013 Ram 1500 5.7L 4WD Quadcab tradesman/ST 6’4” bed
6spd auto (65rfe)

I understand ‘some’ 2013’s came with 8spd’s. Maybe my truck is wired for it?
Would I order a 2013 8spd or look for the newest edition in a 2018? Will any year 4th gen 8HP70 fit?

I really need to make this swap.

My truck is lifted 6” running 35’s on 20’s.

Again, 4WD.

I have been running a Diablosport Platinum EX Trinity tuner since 2017

I am currently replacing the VB and shift solenoid pack on the 6spd.

I’d like to gather the parts and make this swap for the 8spd this spring.

I’m in central Oregon.

I am not an auto mechanic but I do think I am a decent mechanic. I am an electrician of 25yrs and been wrenching on motorcycles for years but not really ever truck mechanic stuff.

I can afford to pay someone to install but it seems doable to me as a DIY.
I have other transportation.
I do not have a large shop or many auto specialty tools.
I’m ready to supercharge the 5.7L and beef up internals and push it with an 8spd!

You guys make it look easy. It’s not but it sure seems obtainable.

Where do I start? What year 8HP70 am I looking for?

I’m my truck indeed is wired, I would NOT need SGA’s kit? I know nothing essentially.

I am seeking advice.

Thank you for offering your knowledge and direction.

Nitro

Wild one

Reaction score
Ram Year
14 Sport
Engine