AlfaOBD programmed a replacement Key fob ok but it stopped working

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Sens East

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2023
Posts
2
Reaction score
1
Location
Waterloo, Ontario
Ram Year
2013
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey Folks, Newbie here so apologies if this has been covered somewhere else but i didnt see the exact situation.

I have a 2013 Ram 1500 Hemi. Key fobs started working a little erratically (mostly the remote start would only work now and then) so I purchased a new fob from a "reputable" seller on Amazon. I already had AlfaOBD so was good to go. I followed the instructions to program and it worked perfectly. As soon I was done programming, the new fob locked unlocked and remote started the truck. I went inside happy things worked as planned.

Later I went to go out for a meeting so remote started with the new fob, went out to the truck and it unlocked when I put my hand on the door handle. I got in and off I went to my meeting. When I got there, as I walked away the fob would not lock the truck, would not unlock nor remote start. When I went to press the start button with the end of the fob the screen showed wrong key fob (or something like that). After ubering home and back to get my original fob, it unlocked and started fine.

Back at home I tried to re-program the new fob and it showed that it was already programmed. Thinking It was crap keyfob I ordered another, went through the same process (Connected to the RF Hub, read the PIN, selected program Highline FOBIK, pressed the unlock button once) and the key programmed up as expected, but once I wnet inside and tried to use it again in seems bricked like the first one.

Has anyone experienced this or have experience to know what I'm doing wrong? This is getting frustrating.

Thanks in advance, this forum is such a great wealth of knowledge!
 

Bobf

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2023
Posts
1
Reaction score
0
Location
NJ
Ram Year
2013
Engine
5.7
I have had the same thing happen, two different key fobs I programmed with alpha obd stopped working. I'm baffled too. It hasn't happened with the factory remotes.
 
OP
OP
Sens East

Sens East

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2023
Posts
2
Reaction score
1
Location
Waterloo, Ontario
Ram Year
2013
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Are we just getting crappy remotes that won’t hold the program? I was lucky and the provider sent another one but I’m gun shy to try again and brick another one without knowing if I’m missing something here.
 

Chris B Iowa

Junior Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2023
Posts
5
Reaction score
5
Location
United States
Ram Year
2013
Engine
Yes
I just purchased 2 new fobs from Amazon and programmed with Alfaobd For my 2013 RAM 1500. The fobs worked great locking/unlocking and remote starting multiple times. The next morning, I drove the truck with one of my Fobs and shut off the engine and the fob failed When I tried a restart. Thinking I might have a bad unit, I retrieved my other fob and it worked perfectly once again until I shut the truck down. Another dead fob.

Bad fobs? Seems doubtful? I attempted to reprogram and as I suspected, they didn’t take the programming at all.
 

GTyankee

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Military
Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Posts
9,919
Reaction score
12,339
Location
El Cajon Calif. 92021
Ram Year
2016
Engine
3.0 ecodiesel
Usually, the OEM Fobiks did not go bad

If the FOBIK case was opened up
remove the battery
Look closely at the Green printed circuit board
Clean everything on the circuit board

Look very closely at the battery holder & any pressure points
There are 2 pressure springs that can be lifted just a bit

Then place a battery back into position

........................................

Now the outer case is another matter, the OEM case was ill designed.
on the back side of the cases buttons, there are contact points that tend to fall off, they can be cleaned, if they are still in place

If you ordered another FOB online
Use the non OEM case on your original FOB
you would be surprised how often that will work
 

RamDiver

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2022
Posts
1,812
Reaction score
2,839
Location
Marlborough, Ontario, Canada
Ram Year
2021
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Just a thought for you folks with FOBs that worked fine and then later failed, have you tested the batteries with a multimeter or tried installing a new Duracell or similar battery in the FOB?

I've bought many devices over the years and in recent times, regardless of the quality of the device, suppliers use completely crap cheap a$$ batteries.

This could explain how they programmed correctly and then functioned for only a short period of time.

.
 

Chris B Iowa

Junior Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2023
Posts
5
Reaction score
5
Location
United States
Ram Year
2013
Engine
Yes
Just a thought for you folks with FOBs that worked fine and then later failed, have you tested the batteries with a multimeter or tried installing a new Duracell or similar battery in the FOB?

I've bought many devices over the years and in recent times, regardless of the quality of the device, suppliers use completely crap cheap a$$ batteries.

This could explain how they programmed correctly and then functioned for only a short period of time.

.
I checked the batteries before programming the Fobs and they tested good. Each Fob failed after using it to start the vehicle and then shutting it off. They both worked fine locking, unlocking and remote starting repeatedly before I drove the vehicle two successive times, one with each fob.

Either the fobs are no good, or the "registration" of the fobs within the system was lost in a reset of the computer when the vehicle was driven. I believe the latter is true. Is there another step that needs to happen? Resetting the system before driving?
 

Chris B Iowa

Junior Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2023
Posts
5
Reaction score
5
Location
United States
Ram Year
2013
Engine
Yes
The following link to You Tube is a video which shows how to program fobs for a Ram 1500 using the exact steps I used. He did not report having lost the fobs after a single use as many of us did.


A follow-up video shows how he used the Alfaobd with the obd mx+ to program his "remote start function" mentions that he was told to "drive the vehicle" to get the new settings to stick. He was skeptical, but followed the instructions and his remote start began working.
 

RamDiver

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2022
Posts
1,812
Reaction score
2,839
Location
Marlborough, Ontario, Canada
Ram Year
2021
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I checked the batteries before programming the Fobs and they tested good.

Have you tested the batteries since they failed to operate? More specifically, press numerous buttons repeatedly to create a load on the battery and then test it. The problem with cheap batteries is they may test out fine until you've applied a load for any period, then they fail. This is very common from my experience.

Unless, you say the battery is a quality name-brand such as Duracell, then they're usually safe to assume as functional after one test.


Each Fob failed after using it to start the vehicle and then shutting it off. They both worked fine locking, unlocking and remote starting repeatedly before I drove the vehicle two successive times, one with each fob.

The way I interpret the above is that the FOB worked correctly when you at the beginning. The battery was fresh until it experienced a load. You state that every function appeared to work suggesting that the programming was successful.



Either the fobs are no good, or the "registration" of the fobs within the system was lost in a reset of the computer when the vehicle was driven. I believe the latter is true. Is there another step that needs to happen? Resetting the system before driving?


When troubleshooting weird & wonderful faults, more often than not, the solution is typically a more simple problem even if we want to believe that it is astronomically complex.

This is why in basic troubleshooting when attacking an unknown fault, we try to rule out the most simple elements first. I can't guarantee that the batteries are to blame just like you can't guarantee they're not.

Testing batteries is painfully simple, why not start there and test them after creating a load?


If you care to search this site for crazy, bizarre, & weird electrical faults on Ram trucks, you will find a huge amount of them finally get traced back to a faulty starting battery. :cool:

.
 

Chris B Iowa

Junior Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2023
Posts
5
Reaction score
5
Location
United States
Ram Year
2013
Engine
Yes
I just purchased 2 new fobs from Amazon and programmed with Alfaobd For my 2013 RAM 1500. The fobs worked great locking/unlocking and remote starting multiple times. The next morning, I drove the truck with one of my Fobs and shut off the engine and the fob failed When I tried a restart. Thinking I might have a bad unit, I retrieved my other fob and it worked perfectly once again until I shut the truck down. Another dead fob.

Bad fobs? Seems doubtful? I attempted to reprogram and as I suspected, they didn’t take the programming at all.

UPDATE:
I checked the fobs in Alfaobd diagnostics and it reported the 2 new fobs were present in the memory, but were outside “parameters”. Alfa Obd tech rep advised that I needed to try a different source for the fobs and try again. I returned the first 2 fobs and purchased From a different source (also on Amazon). They are working perfectly…….so far.
 
Last edited:
Top