Ham Radio Antenna

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JimReed

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Laramie
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I am new to HAM radio and looking to install a radio/antenna in a 2014 1500 crew and was wondering if anyone had HAM or other radio experience and any suggestions on antenna placement and cable run to the antenna without having to drill? Much appreciated.

BWL

Embrace the skeptisism
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
You can get a fender mount bracket and run through the firewall to the engine bay. I just have a mag mount one and I plug it in when I need it and just run out the door. It semi seals with the door seal. It does result in a bit of water following the cable in when it rains though so I take it off when not in use or to fit in the garage.

AFMoulton

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi

farmallboy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 hemi
Currently waiting on the fcc....passed my test 1/12. The word impatient comes to mind lol.

I used a fender mount. One on either side. One for scanner one for my icom.

Obviously I cannot speak for my transmit capability but my swr is great and reception is all day strong. I just couldn't bring myself to drill a hole in the roof of a new truck. We shall see, I'm not looking to make national or even statewide contacts while mobile. My goal is local repeater access while on the move and ability to pickup even more when traveling farther.

Again, obviously I'm very green behind the ears, I hope my above goals will be accomplished without a higher mounted antenna which I do understand to be a better solution.

AFMoulton

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
Currently waiting on the fcc....passed my test 1/12. The word impatient comes to mind lol.