Looking for a new (to me) truck, 8 speed questions...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JFortner5

Reaction score
Ram Year
None
Engine
Hey everyone, this is my first post here. I used to be very active on Dodgetalk but that was over 10 years ago. I had an 04 QC 5.7L 2wd at the time.

Anyway I’ve been through several vehicles since then. I recently got married and we both have kids from a previous marriage, a total of 4 (people call us the Brady bunch). I had a 99 GMC Sierra that I bought for almost nothing so I had been driving it for the last 4 years. My wife had a 2010 Camry. We decided we needed a vehicle that could transport all of us so we bought her a 2015 Toyota Highlander. I sold my GMC, and now I’m driving the Camry. I liked my truck and it was in good shape mechanically and aesthetically but being 20 years old we decided to get rid of it. I don’t mind driving the car too much, having 4 doors is nice when I’m running kids around compared to the 3 door extended cab I had.

That was probably a little too much background info just to say that I am probably going to buy myself another truck here in the next month or two. I am not really brand loyal and to me all of the makes have good and bad things. I have been looking at all of the full-sizes and even Tacomas but have decided I want the full-size. Here are my main questions with the Rams...

Is the quad cab comparable in size to the 3rd gen trucks? I’d probably opt for the crew cab but I’m just curious. I’d only be driving a couple kids around at a time and not for long distances.