Need advice on control arms? Pinion Angle

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

stansfield187

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I have a 2012 1500 crew cab that's lowered 2in in the front and 4 inches in rear. My problem is my pinion angle is off and I have drive line vibration. I can't remember if it was off by 5 or 15 degrees (took it to a transmission shop). I need a solution to adjust my pinion angle. Would that be control arms? If so what kind should I get?

Thanks!

pacofortacos

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Adjustable ;)

hahaha sorry had to :)

You need adjustable control arms - not sure if you can get away with just a set of lowers or a set of uppers or if you will need them all.
Depending on adjustment I would think you might get enough adjustment of a set of adjustable lowers.

I have no experience on the Ram with them though, so hopefully someone will chime in that has had to use them.

OP
OP
stansfield187

stansfield187

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Thanks, unfortunately shops in my area don't know what I need either. I'm hoping someone can give me a brand recommendation with part number or web link. I'm open to all suggestions.

cityredneck

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
have you taken it to an alignment shop to get it aligned? would have a better chance of seeing how far out it is and the shop might know how to adjust/correct

pacofortacos

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Can you measure the length on the upper from bolt to bolt?
I guess lower arms too.

It's possible a Jeep arm might work that is adjustable, I have a set of one of them here.
I think it is 16" bolt to bolt all of the way wound in, I don't know how long the other set is as they are on the Jeep but I could find out.

These are VERY NICE very heavy duty adjustable arms and reasonably priced.

GTyankee

Supporting Member
Military