New to Dodge Rams

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

KramerSM

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
Hello, I just bought a new to me 2005 Dodge Ram 1500 with the 5.7L Hemi 4 door 4x4 with 75,000KM on it.
I have only ever had small trucks previous to this beast like a 93 Tacoma and a 03 Ranger but I was looking for a new full size truck to haul my bikes around and have more cab space. I was never a Dodge fan at all and I leaned more towards the Ford and GMC side, but the deal was offered at an unbelievable bargain so I jumped on it. After a lot of research on these trucks its hard to find anything bad said about the Rams at all.. especially the motors. The only bad thing that was said more than once was the front ends are a little weak which is every newer truck it seems now-a-days.

So anyway, I'm new to the Rams and the 5.7L Hemi but I'm VERY happy with my purchase even though I haven't had much seat time. Its insanely torquey and always RIGHT THERE with the slight press of the pedal. Obviously I will need to save for new tires, yearly.
I have a few questions about aftermarket parts and any problems with these trucks that Ram owners would like to share that I could not find out.

So, first things first, Are these front ends "weaker" than most half ton truck out there? Our company's, 3500 Chev express van, truly hates ball joints and wheel bearings, so I am used to it. Is there anything specific I should check on the truck that is known for going bad or may be bad other than wear parts? What about the little quirks of the third generation Rams? God knows the Toyota had a ton. Does this Ram's 5.7 have MDS? ( I'm pretty positive it does not) Any recommended advice? What to expect?