Power locks

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by guanobucks, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. guanobucks

    guanobucks Junior Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney, Ns, Canada
    Ram Year:
    2011
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    So I tried to unlock my doors today and only driver side opens, however if the other doors are open, the door switch closes them all. I’ve been reading up on issues and I’m seeing suggestions of the TIPM replacement. I’m doing a hard reset tonight but I’m wondering what I can check to verify. No codes.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. Tach_tech

    Tach_tech Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    978
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    5.7L HEMI
    We’re you using the fob or door switch to unlock?
     
  3. NorthStar1

    NorthStar1 Member

    Posts:
    72
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ram Year:
    2018 Ram 1500 Laramie Longhorn Southfork Edition
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    It sounds like you are using your key fob to unlock the door. Do you have the 8.4 radio? If so, under settings in the radio there is a soft switch that you can change where the remote will either unlock only the driver door or all doors. Page 648 of my 2018 owners manual explains it and how to set it...check yours.
     
    Ratket and huntergreen like this.
  4. huntergreen

    huntergreen Senior Member Military Member

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    5,557
    Likes Received:
    5,615
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    hemi 5.7
    Exactly, you need to program the 8.4 radio.
     
    Ratket likes this.
  5. Ratket

    Ratket Senior Member

    Posts:
    3,023
    Likes Received:
    903
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Location:
    Arizona-
    Ram Year:
    2018 1500
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Gieco ain’t got nothing on us in terms of saving you money....
     
    Jrod likes this.
  6. meedom

    meedom Senior Member Military Member

    Posts:
    300
    Likes Received:
    213
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Be nice to know if that worked for him, and you're welcome lol!! :happy160:
     
    Jrod likes this.
  7. guanobucks

    guanobucks Junior Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney, Ns, Canada
    Ram Year:
    2011
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I will take a look at the 8.4 option. The lock switches in the truck are doing the same thing. They will lock all doors but only open the drivers door.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. Ratket

    Ratket Senior Member

    Posts:
    3,023
    Likes Received:
    903
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Location:
    Arizona-
    Ram Year:
    2018 1500
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I have mine set to “ Two clicks unlocks all” I believe
     
  9. guanobucks

    guanobucks Junior Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney, Ns, Canada
    Ram Year:
    2011
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    8.4 program option did not work, setting is to open all on double click which doesn’t happen. The interior door switches also do not open doors and do not click when I press, however if the doors are open the switch will lock them and if locked I hear a click. As 3 doors are doing same thing and it happened all at once I can’t believe it’s the door actuators as youtube suggests. Therefore I’m thinking TIPM but I don’t know how to test it or if there is a fuse or something to check. With one door working I assume fuse is also not the issue. Any ideas?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. WTM75

    WTM75 Senior Member

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    338
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    3.6 Pentastar
    When I first got my truck, I was having the same problem. Sometimes they would unlock, sometimes they wouldn’t, sometimes some unlocked. I brought it to the dealer, the did an RF hub reset and it has worked perfect since. Maybe try doing that, RF reset.
     

Share This Page