Proud new owner with some question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Chief115

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Afternoon guys,

For those of you who are actually interested, I am the proud new owner of a 1999 Dodge Ram 1500 Extended cab, 5.9. Picked it up last weekend and could never be happier. When I was growing up I was raised in a 97 Dodge ram, so this was a blast from the past.

So down to business. I have a very long list of mods I want to make. But there are a few that I have no experience in (this is my first truck/vehicle I care about). Listed below are the current head scratchers I have.

Headers-
iv determined that shortys are the only way you can really go. However I cant figure out which brand is better- JBA or Gibson. I was also trying to find an Edlebrock one(I don't even know if they exist) or just going with a Summit racing header. But past that I have no idea which one is best (other then the warranties).

Differential gear change-
I have absolutely no clue what options/brands or anything I could do. I'm trying to get a little better MPG's, while not loosing my offroad capabilities (I do plan on going mudding)

Driveshaft change-
Again, for MPG's. Is there a aftermarket driveshaft that's lighter then the stock one but still strong enough for offroad?

Intake manifold-
Should I change it? Keep it the same? Just trying to get a lil more power.

That's all I can think of right now. Any help, suggestions or anything like that is MUCH appreciated.

Attachments

• dodge.jpg
    dodge.jpg
    94.2 KB · Views: 34

Booms

The OG
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Express
Engine
Whipple 5.7 • SmoothBoost!
Welcome.... :favorites13:

dodge dude94

Millennial Boomer
Reaction score
Ram Year
1998 Ram 1500
Engine
5.9 Magnum
Afternoon guys,