tick, yep, again, another

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

0x00

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Ticking, badly, history:
2003 1500 5.7 bought new
Tcked lightly from new. Forever, almost.....Never an issue.
At some point, exhaust manifold hardware was replaced with custom stainless parts. They thereafter remained attached and so did the tin. (I STILL NEED TO VERIFY NOT THE ISSUE but the new tick is really bad and metallic)
267,*** miles and #1 intake spring broke. I had to drive it several hundred miles before......
Replaced all springs and began the 270K service (plugs). NO OIL OR FILTER YET.
Engine was PERFECT no more light tick, sounded and ran great.....for a while.
Now, there is a VERY PRONOUNCED METALLIC tick from the #1 area. So bad it bothers me an I have a lot of experience and I don't whine about little noises.....
It really bothers me that it was perfect after spring replacement for at least a couple hundred miles then got a tick worse than ever.
I don't drive it a lot but I 'think' there was no tick upon new springs, then I noticed a tick and now its so bad I am considering tearing it down to have a looksee. Probably 10 - 20 trips since springs, some up to 60 miles.

Thoughts? wiped lobe? bent pushrod(hard to explain), bad lifter, damaged by spring breakage (maybe explainable? maybe running a while with less spring load did something to it?)

If thoughts are towards cam/lifter, does anyone know if dirver side head can come off/out with engine in car? (crying at the thought of it).

RamDiver

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Does this noise ever change in loudness or tonal quality from a cold start to warm or under significant engine load?

You may very well have a case of the famous Hemi tick but it would be prudent to eliminate the simple easy fixes first.