TIPM or CAM?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bgoetz1182

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7
Purchased a PreOwned 2011 Ram 1500 5.7L and currently had sluggish shifting then hopping/jumping. Pulled over, off then on, seemed to reset but occurred again when I got on it! This is my first Ram and learning about many common issues. FYI: I’m no mechanic, still learning.

Mechanic 1 shows codes P0305: Cyl 5 misfire. P1524: oil pressure. P0521: oil pressure sensor. Says I need a new Cam, found Cyl 5 valve remaining open then possibly shuts off when I turn truck on/off. Removed D/S valve cover to check Cam. Cam Shaft & Lifters: $3400

Mechanic 2 says truck was dead in AM, found fuel pump constantly running, intermittent. Troubleshooting leads him to replace TIPM, alternator and battery. Says poor voltage can affect proper valve closing? Quoted $3400+(found that 2011 TIPM has fuel pump relay soldered on back of TIPM unlike newer models)

Again, I’m no mechanic but one problem and 2 pro shops give me 2 potential reasons. And no, extended warranty does cover anything here! Between YouTube and Forums, CAMS are an issue and TIPM’s are Fkn expensive!!!! Haha

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Richmond2000

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
there are companies that "rebuild" TIPM in the $500 range

google is your friend and some offer "next day" service and for more cash rebuilt units for sale with a core return of yours

RamCares

Reaction score
Ram Year
n/a
Engine
n/a
Purchased a PreOwned 2011 Ram 1500 5.7L and currently had sluggish shifting then hopping/jumping. Pulled over, off then on, seemed to reset but occurred again when I got on it! This is my first Ram and learning about many common issues. FYI: I’m no mechanic, still learning.