TT Towing advice 2014 2500 CTD

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jadocs

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hey guys, I'm a complete towing newb, and have a dumb question, so apologies up front.

I purchased this truck to tow a TT. The plan is to get the largest TT that I can safely tow.

What are the benefits over a 5th wheel vs off the hitch? I assume a 5th wheel would be more stable?

Can I tow more if I install a 5th wheel hitch? (My assumption is no, and it would just be more stable?).

Based on your experience, what would be the max weight/size you would tow with a 2014 2500HD CTD? (I have a family of five), and would you do hitch mounted or 5th wheel?

Apologies again and thanks

granite14

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Ram 2500, 4x4, CC, SLT Big Horn
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Hey guys, I'm a complete towing newb, and have a dumb question, so apologies up front.
If your a newb, its good to ask all the questions before buying!

I purchased this truck to tow a TT. The plan is to get the largest TT that I can safely tow.
I must say that I would have never done this. At least you have plenty of truck. I paid my tuition to towing school through the upgrade cycle. 15ft TT, 19ft TT, 31 ft TT. I learned a lot about how to tow and plan routes/gas, and I would STILL have a learning curve going over to a 5th wheel.

What are the benefits over a 5th wheel vs off the hitch? I assume a 5th wheel would be more stable?
I've not pulled both, but any search, people will tell you its more stable. I wish I had a 5th wheel, but I've always been reserving that bed space for a motorcycle to bring camping, although it hasn't happened yet.

Based on your experience, what would be the max weight/size you would tow with a 2014 2500HD CTD? (I have a family of five), and would you do hitch mounted or 5th wheel?