Tuning questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BaconBritches

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
318 Magnum V8
Hey, I’m a newbie around here. Bought a 95 Ram 1500 with the 5.2. Single cab, regular bed, 2wd but sits pretty high. 261,000 miles but most everything has been completely rebuilt. No mechanical problems at all. With rising gas prices I thought about getting my truck tuned, but I decided I’d rather save the money and see what kind of tuning work I can do to hopefully slightly increase power, but ultimately get better fuel economy. I don’t expect any amazing fuel economy. After all, it’s a Dodge. Haha! but I use it as a truck hauling hay and feed and random stuff. Nothing insanely heavy. It’s my daily because I can’t afford two vehicles. Since this truck predates obd2 I haven’t been able to find much around the internet about tuning this truck. I know I may not get the results that a professional tuner would, but if a little bit of time and a small amount of money make a small difference then it’s worth it to me. I’ve heard mixed results about aftermarket computer systems. Anyways, my point is, any advice on the tuning of this truck especially for fuel economy without too much power loss would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a ton!

pacofortacos

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Honestly, one of the biggest gains in power AND mpg is also one of the simplest. Get rid of the clutch fan and go electric.
I gained 2-3 mpg across the board on my 99 5.2 dakota.
A tune can help a bit but removing the clutch fan was a big gainer for me.

OP
OP
B

BaconBritches

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
318 Magnum V8
Thank you! I’ll start researching those. I knew about them, but they didn’t come to mind. I appreciate it!

Daw14

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
Oversized tires will also help consume more fuel.

pacofortacos