UConnect/Radio Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TexasLonghorns14

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
I'm new to this and hoping to get some help/guidance. I have a 2018 1500 Lone Star. This is my fourth Ram and have never had any major issues....until now. A few months ago, after the last UConnect update, the radio started 'channel surfing'. The problem has gotten so bad that the radio can't be used at all. I can't get it to stop running through the music channels and inputs long enough to use it. Now it starts this crazy stuff as son as I start the engine. AND it has de-laminated half the screen.

I've contacted Chrysler and was told it's a software issue through UConnect. I contacted UConnect and all I was told is my system has the latest update based on my VIN. My dealer told me they will not replace the radio because it's a software problem and not hardware and, besides, the warranty has expired.

My question - what is the best replacement I can get that will allow me to continue using Android Auto, the reverse camera, and Sirius XM? And is this replacement UConnect free and DIY installable?

The truck runs fine and everything else associated to the radio works (i.e. I can still use the reverse camera and can get text message alerts). I can't get phone calls or reply to a text message anymore either. Not that it's a big deal for me but hands-free is a priority considering I live in a large city.

Any help is appreciated.

audiophile

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L