Yellow Towing Sticker Ontario Canada

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CDN Ram

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Laramie
Engine
6.7L CTD
I'm new to Ontario Canada and I have some questions about the yellow sticker I see in the bottom drivers side of the windshield on SOME trucks.
I have been told I need it by some and told I don't as long as its for personal use not a business by others. I do know if you get one you now need annual safeties and emission checks, which on a 3500 CTD is rather expensive. So my question is as follows for the guys here in Ontario Canada who own trucks and tow with them, what is the rule on these stickers? Do I need one or not? I think is has something to do with the GVWR numbers but not sure. Do I only need it if I tow or do I need all the time cause its a truck? Is there a fine for not having it? If so how much is the fine? I see alot of truck running around towing things, about half have the sticker half don't not sure where I am on this and need help. Please clarify this for me!!!

Thanks alot.

Bombdigitty

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Its all about the weight.
I had to sticker my truck and trailer this past winter. Id gotten away with not stickering it for about 5 years.

I got pulled over and got a ticket for failure to display device (No sticker).
He could have given me 2 separate tickets. one for the truck and one for the trailer.

If the trailer weights more than 2800KG's it needs to be stickered.
Typically any trailer with tandem 3500# axels or larger needs to be stickered.
RV's are completely excempt from this however.

From the MTO website:

If the trailer weighs more than 2,800 kg (6,171 lb.):
•register the truck for at least the combined weight of the truck and trailer, weights A and B

If the trailer weighs 2,800 kg (6,171 lb.) or less: