Is this true or not?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tolson93

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
So, today at work i was helping this guy put a deer stand in his van.. Got on the subject that i own a dodge ram.. He was saying something about needing to warm up the truck in neutral to save on the transmission? or something like that, has anyone heard that before? or can deny/ confirm that?

Razzaa

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
What transmission was he talking about? If I drive backwards everywhere will that also save my tranny? Lol jk jk

OP
OP
Tolson93

Tolson93

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Come on now, im new to the automotive world here haha. I do feel kind of stupid and gullable after reading your guy's posts though haha. It sounded like he was telling the truth so i thought i would ask on here!

CC12RamLove

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Can't say anything about the tranny. I let my truck run in park for a few minutes when i first start it to get oil to the top of the motor and when i put it in gear i am easy on it at first, dont just stomp on the skinny pedal.

MegaMouseGW

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
SRT 10 Viper Motor and Tranny
Ok I will bite on this one. Warming up your truck in neutral has proven to be bad. It is better to just go out and drive it. Now in winter you may want to sit there and warm it up to get the heat to your interior.
Now diesels are a different story. They do need to be warmed up to give you proper performance. But as far as your tranny goes it really does not get too much heat from the engine itself. It builds the heat up while you are driving around.

dodge dude94

Millennial Boomer
Reaction score
Ram Year
1998 Ram 1500
Engine
5.9 Magnum
Warmed up, no.