Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


2012 RAM 3500 Diesel - OEM Radio No Power

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Jeff Bottemiller, Nov 6, 2019.

  1. Jeff Bottemiller

    Jeff Bottemiller Junior Member

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Location:
    Milwaukie, OR
    Ram Year:
    2012
    Engine:
    6.7 Diesel
    I'm sorry if this is a duplicate. I'm new to the forum and couldn't find this info.

    My RAM has the OEM touch screen radio and Alpine system. The radio has no power. The 30amp fuse in the fuse block under the hood is good. I've seen others online that have found an inline 20 amp fuse as well but I am unable to find one. Nor can I find a secondary fuse box.

    I had a draw in the truck batteries that recently completely drained the batteries. I got them recharged and the truck started, but the radio has been without power since.

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Jeff
     
  2. RamCares

    RamCares Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ram Year:
    n/a
    Engine:
    n/a
    Hi Jeff,

    I'm sorry to hear of the trouble you are currently experiencing! If you're not able to determine a solution with the assistance of fellow forum members and you decide to address this with your dealer, please let us know via private message. We would be more than happy to provide you with an additional layer of support for that process.

    Mark
    RamCares
     
  3. Jeff Bottemiller

    Jeff Bottemiller Junior Member

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Location:
    Milwaukie, OR
    Ram Year:
    2012
    Engine:
    6.7 Diesel
    If anyone could direct me to where to find the inline 20amp fuse that would be great on a 2012 3500 Diesel
     
  4. Jeff Bottemiller

    Jeff Bottemiller Junior Member

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Location:
    Milwaukie, OR
    Ram Year:
    2012
    Engine:
    6.7 Diesel
    Thanks, PM sent
     
  5. RamCares

    RamCares Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ram Year:
    n/a
    Engine:
    n/a
    Thank you for doing so, Jeff! I have just responded to your most recent message.

    Mark
    RamCares
     
  6. Jeff Bottemiller

    Jeff Bottemiller Junior Member

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Location:
    Milwaukie, OR
    Ram Year:
    2012
    Engine:
    6.7 Diesel
    Thanks, PM sent
     
  7. Jeff Bottemiller

    Jeff Bottemiller Junior Member

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Location:
    Milwaukie, OR
    Ram Year:
    2012
    Engine:
    6.7 Diesel
    OK, I opened up the dash and found that the original owner had installed a My Gig Lock Pick. On a whim I decided to disconnect it and reconnect the OEM plugs into the radio. Everything came back on. Clearly something wrong with the Lock Pick. Just leaving it out for now. I've lost the added functions of the Lock Pick but the radio works and now I know what the problem was.
     
    RamCares likes this.
  8. JimmyA

    JimmyA Junior Member

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Location:
    Northeast texas
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    6.7 Cummins
    Glad you found the issue! Thanks for posting.
     

Share This Page