2015 Dodge Ram knocking noise

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dodgydoge

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7hemi
Hi all.

I’m new to the Dodge world. I bought a 2015 Dodge Ram 6 months ago from my brother in law. I’m doing Reno’s on my house and needed a truck. My intentions were to sell it when I was done with the Reno’s. Wellllll, I’m kind of loving it and want to keep it. The kids love going in it as well. It’s making a knocking and tapping sound. Sounds like it’s coming from underneath. I’ve attached a link and you guys can hear it and maybe someone might now what it could be?

The lifters were done as well as the timing chain. The noise is low like that when In park. When I put it in drive it get just a tad louder. The truck drives perfectly but should I be concerned that this will turn into a big issue or it’s something that can be repaired easily by a mechanic? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

EdGs

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7L
Check your exhaust manifold bolts. When the engine is cold, reach in through the wheel wells and grab the corners of the heat shields over the exhaust manifolds and see if they are loose.

Does it only happen when the engine is cold? warm? Does it subside at all?

OP
OP
D

Dodgydoge

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7hemi
Check your exhaust manifold bolts. When the engine is cold, reach in through the wheel wells and grab the corners of the heat shields over the exhaust manifolds and see if they are loose.

Does it only happen when the engine is cold? warm? Does it subside at all?
Hi EdGs.
Thank you for your reply. The noise never subsides. Just stays the same. Just very odd when in park you can hear it. Once in drive or reverse, it gets a tad louder. The truck drives great though.

turkeybird56

Military Vet 1976-1996 Retired US Army
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year