4.7 to 5.7 Hemi swap ?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

FXR99

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hey gang ! Newbie here ! I just purchased a beautiful 2002 regular cab short bed out of NC and very interested in doing a drop out Hemi to replace the 4.7... Has anyone done this and is it reasonably straight forward ?

HemiLonestar

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
Define "reasonably straightforward" lol. Is it a straight drop in like the old days? No. Physically no problem. Electrically is where the easy fun part stops.

OP
OP
FXR99

FXR99

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Haha ! Yeah I figured the electronics slash wiring would be no fun, so are you saying it is nightmare status ?

OP
OP
FXR99

FXR99

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Sweet ride by the way !

HemiLonestar

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
Haha ! Yeah I figured the electronics slash wiring would be no fun, so are you saying it is nightmare status ?
It is doable, but it isn't exactly easy, especially if it isn't something you do routinely or have the proper tools and know-how. Typical engine swaps pretty much stopped happening on the regular back in the early 90's unless all elex was bypassed or was within the same engine family. Even then, sometimes the built in elex itself is the problem. I have an 03 hemi truck, say I wanted to put a larger hemi in or some such, due to the factory PCM I won't be able to properly tune it without swapping to a newer PCM and altering the harness. 04 and newer the only real obstacle to same engine family swaps is the trans in the 04-13 models (same one behind your 4.7).

Sweet ride by the way !
Thanks!

OP
OP
FXR99

FXR99

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine