Beginner toolset suggestions?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ramhacker

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.6L V6
I have a lot of general tools already from when I worked in construction. However, I just got a RAM 1500 and wanted to know if any of you had some recommendations for tools that will come in handy for this thing. I'm going to be putting a hitch on it, toolbox, and installing some tow hooks. I already have a torque wrench that goes to 250 lb-ft. Is there a socket kit you could link me that will cover most of the bolts on the RAM?

I've actually not used a standard socket for lug nuts before so I have no idea what size those are either (for the torque wrench), But I'm planning on also removing the lug nuts so I could do some work behind the wheels as well.

KeepRight

ExFalconFxr
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
EcoDiesel
Initially, always buy quality tools. I get the draw to places like Harbor Freight. Try hard to just stay away.

Ask around - mech that has quality tools mixed with HB - they'll always grab for quality. Leave the HB in your trunk for an emergency. Too if lost or stolen, who cares.

I have thousands of tools auto and aircraft maintenance. The number one (#1) and hardest working tool that I own - is a 14" long 1/2" drive breaker bar. I'd get a few lengths, but at least 1/2" drive. By far out of every tool I own - my craftsman breaker bar is used 1000% more than any other tool!

I'd not worry or jump to spending money on a torque wrench. Yes, for some this is a good investment. To me it's not the 1st or 5th thing I'd buy.