Chirping Spring-Like Noise from Front Brakes When Stopping from Slow Speeds - 2020 Ram

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TimTheTug

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7L, no eTorque
I have a 2020 Ram 1500 Limited with the V8 (no eTorque), off-road package, 20 in. wheels. It has the air suspension. Currently has 6,000 miles. I love the truck but there is one issue driving me crazy. When stopping from slow speeds (forward and reverse) the front brakes "chirp" loudly kind of like a bird; kind of a spring-like noise. I have a great video of it happening, but it is MP4 and I can't seem to load it here (I am new to Ram Forum - seems like file attachments are very limited in size). It is NOT the wear indicator. At 4,000 miles I only heard it from the right front brake. The dealer replaced the right front caliper and flushed, bled the brake line. That worked for about 1,000 miles. At about 5,000 miles I started hearing it from the left front brake. At about 5,500 miles, I heard it from both front brakes. I took it to a different dealer who said those frustrating words, "Could not duplicate the problem". Here are my observations:
1. It seems to get worse the warmer it is and the further I drive; and get worse with time except goes away briefly during rain.
2. It seems to only happen when braking lightly or moderately. If I get on the brakes, maybe doesn't happen. In a drive-thru, the sound bounces off the wall and makes the truck sound really old.
3. I would liken it to a suspension creak, kind of, but I am 100% sure it is related to the brakes. It is definitely coming from within the front caliper assemblies.