Correct oil filter or not?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JimEd

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
IMG_5771.jpeg
I have 2013 Ram 1500 Sport 5.7L Hemi. I also have a 2016 Hemi Charger. I thought all 5.7L were the same. I have been using the 20-820 on both vehicles for the last three years. Royal Purple says the 20-820 is for my car and the 10-48 is for my truck. Should I be concerned that I have been using the wrong filter for my truck all this time?

OP
OP
JimEd

JimEd

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
That makes me feel a lot better, although I would think the larger filter would do a better job. Thanks everyone.

Badger 13

Reaction score
Ram Year
2013 Dodge Ram 1500
Engine
5.7 Hemi
No problem, I have a 2013 as well and use the 20-820.

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi
Mine won't fit a 20-820 without gouging the side of the can on the block or a body seam. A 20-500 is the width of the 10-48 but longer.
if sometime you can take a pic and post it in oil filter thread it would be much appreciated. We know there are a few rams out there like this but we dont have any pics. most can take the larger filter w/o issue, but some cant, we would like to know what item is in the way for info purpose.

HEMIMANN

Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 2500 Laramie Crew Cab
Engine
6.4L HEMI
if sometime you can take a pic and post it in oil filter thread it would be much appreciated. We know there are a few rams out there like this but we dont have any pics. most can take the larger filter w/o issue, but some cant, we would like to know what item is in the way for info purpose.

Yeah you do. I posted mine showing how the molded lower radiator hose was right next to the std diameter oil filter canister.

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi