Is my motor supposed to shut off?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Baashar

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I have a 2019 Ram 1500 Limited with the eTorque system and Ive been driving the truck for about 3 months now and not once has the engine shut off. The RPM needle stays up at idle and the motor never shuts off at traffic lights. I was under the impression that it shuts the vehicle off and then starts it back up seamlessly after the wheels start to move under electric power just a little bit. Did I misunderstand how this works and the motor never shuts off?

ThunderMug95

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I believe that the auto stop/start also depends on the demand placed on the vehicle. Meaning if you have AC set at max and its hot outside, the demand for turning the AC compressor on will keep the engine running. At least this is the way it works in our other vehicle with auto start/stop. But to have it never do so seems odd. I cant speak for the Ram setup, but in our GMC I can disable it from a menu...I have been forbidden to do so because its her GMC, even though personally I find it supremely annoying to sit at a light with the motor off It is unnatural.

OP
OP
Baashar

Baashar

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Well it is summertime so I guess its possible although Ive driven around without the AC on too.

I cant disable mine as far as I know, and I dont have the button near the shifter to turn auto stop on/off like models without eTorque have

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
It look like you have the 5.7 engine which the eTorque is an option unlike the V6 models. The eTorque for the 5.7 looks like this: images.jpg