Keeps blowing head gaskets

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

asasial

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
POS 4.7
new to forum. i have a 2002 4.7 4x4 ram.
it has been a total POS!!! had it a little over a year and a half.
10,000 miles after buying it, around 95,000 miles on the truck it blows the head gaskets. tore it down. had heads shaved. felpro gaskets, new head bolts,
8,000 miles after that it starts loosing water literally about 2 gallons per 100 miles. tore top end back down changed the gaskets again. as well as a set of heads.
now 4,100 miles and it's loosing water again at about the same rate.
i have been a diesel mechanic for years so yes i know how to change a head gasket.
Can anyone tell me why these engines keep blowing head gaskets.

not to mention the oil pressure drop and the dash was fine on it when purchased now there are literally about 20 HUGE cracks in it.
i don't trust that truck to drive to town. much less go on a trip.

ramhunter9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
P-Star Jeep Wrangler
first off welcome to RF .

second 4.7's have been known for head problems . I wish i could help but i have never worked on a 4.7 . but allot of guys on here have , so stay tuned they will pop up

OP
OP
A

asasial

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
POS 4.7
thanks... i hope so... i'm under the hood more than i'm behind the wheel...

and that's a good lookin truck... mine's looks good... for a yard ornament... but not that good

ramhunter9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
P-Star Jeep Wrangler
thank you

Silverbullet08

Persona Non Grata
Reaction score
like rh, the 4.7 are known to have that problem.

have u considered an engine swap? prob cheaper then having to keep replacing heads...

Bigtman07

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins 5.9