Lifters

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

The Huntress

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Okay, Sooo. I had my nephew replace my lifters. He is supposed to be a mechanic? Two head gaskets and two sets of head bolts later. He tells me my pickup is only running on 2 to 3 cylinders now? I am not a mechanic, but have watched 100's of videos after the hemi tick started. Now he is telling me I need to buy new lifters again, gaskets again, head bolts again, oil again. My question is What the heck did he do to cause cylinder issues. I have a small understanding on cylinder loss. I was going to do it myself, but being a 57 year old lady. do not have the tools to do this. So I'm thinking he didn't torque the bolts correctly, or the push pins were not put back correctly. He's telling me it is because the new lifters I bought were cheap. He is quoting me 1200.00 for OEM lifters alone.
What are your thoughts on this.

Last edited:

pacofortacos

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
So many possibilities of a screwup.
Even cheap lifters should work initially.

Have him do a compression test to see what the compression is.

OP
OP
T

The Huntress

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
That is exactly what I thought, about the lifters.

He told me my cams looked good.

Last edited:

pacofortacos

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
You don't mention replacing the camshaft.
Why would you replace the lifters and not the cam? Is the cam still in perfect condition?

pacofortacos

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Ask him,
If I get the good lifters, gaskets, bolts, oil are you giving me a 100% guarantee that it will run correctly? And if it needs anything else you will pay for it out of your pocket?

That will let you know how confident he is. This is why it sucks to have family do work for you.

OP
OP
T

The Huntress

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine