More truck- my best option?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BarbinLA

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 L Hemi
I’m a 70 yr old female volunteer who hauls an 8900 lb bumper pull camper with my Ram 1500 (3.92 rear end with towing package). I’m about to trade and the new engine with eTorque has a towing capacity of 11,200. I’m wondering if I can continue with the 1500 ( great mileage when I’m not hauling) or should I move up to the 2500 with a 6.4 engine? I know I’m on the higher end but I’ve been pulling with 1500’s for six years with no issues. I’m wondering if I’m okay or I’ve just been lucky. Your advice is appreciated.

NJMOPAR

Older and faster
TOTM Winner
Reaction score
Stay with the 3:92 gears on the new 1500 and you should be fine. The 2500 is a different beast and you're already comfortable in the 1500.

Different Drummer

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Pentastar V6
I'll see if I can get myself in trouble here.
I spent over seven years on the road in RV's with all of my time on BLM land. 100% boon docking. I run into a ton of RV'rs. What I saw was that if people are spending much time on the road they are loading their equipment to the Max and more often waaaay beyond. Often combined GVWR is never considered. And then there is the issue of braking. Another area that seems to take a back seat behind power considerations.
Obviously I cannot speak to your specific needs.
In case you have not got the drift yet, my vote is 2500.
I cannot help but wonder how close our paths may have come over the years.
Travel safe,
DD

Travelin Ram

Reaction score
Somewhere in NA. Probably. We travel a lot.
Ram Year
Engine